The Myth of the Undecided Voter

You’ve seen them in interactive focus groups, and most recently in the Town hall debate: The Undecideds.

It makes a normal voter wonder, “Where in the heck to they find these people?”

The answer was inadvertently revealed at msnbc.com by Domenico Montanaro in his interview with “undecided” voter Oliver Clark, one of the Town hall debate questioners …

…the Sunday before last, I received a call from the Gallop Poll. They asked a few questions regarding my choice in the Presidential election. They asked who I would vote for. I said most likely I would be voting for Barack Obama. They followed with, “is there any chance that you would change your mind“? I said “Of course anything is possible.” They then asked me as an uncommitted voter would I like to participate in the Town hall debate. I said “Of course!”

Of course! It’s so clear to me now. This man is obviously undecided.

So, next time a pollster calls me and asks me if there is any chance I might change my mind, instead of telling them, “No,” I’ll just say, “When monkeys fly out of my ____,” and voila! You might just see me in the next Frank Luntz focus group!

Leave a Reply

